Due to UCF’s brutal loss after becoming ranked for the first time in program history, I had a brain lapse and forgot to post my Sure-fire picks. As a result, because it’s 2:30 p.m., I am picking the 4 p.m., Sunday night, and Monday night games. My apologies to those of you who rely on my picks to lose money.

Many in Denver are calling for Josh McDaniels' job. I think the Broncos will help him out today.

After last week’s 4-3-1 performance the Sure-fire picks are creeping closer to .500 at 34-37-1. Due to the tardiness of this post I can’t pick and choose lines so this may get ugly.

Kansas City (-1) at Denver, 4:05 p.m. Sunday

It’s probably foolish, but I still don’t think Kansas City is for real. The Broncos will tighten up the AFC West race – and amazingly stay alive in it – with a win here. Broncos +1.

St. Louis at San Francisco (-4), 4:15 p.m. Sunday

This is also probably foolish, but I still think the 49ers will win the NFC West. To do so they obviously must beat the Rams today. 49ers -4.

Seattle at Arizona (-4), 4:15 p.m. Sunday

The Seahawks are nothing to write home about either, but there’s no way the Cardinals should be favored by more than a field goal over anybody. Seahawks +4.

Dallas at N.Y. Giants (-13), 4:15 p.m. Sunday

How bad are the Cowboys? Really, really bad. I’m just happy they fired poor Wade. Giants -13.

New England at Pittsburgh (-5), 8:20 p.m. Sunday

The Steelers split their last two games – both on the road – and haven’t looked very good. I expect them to come home and make a statement against the Patriots. Steelers -5.

Philadelphia (-3) at Washington, 8:30 p.m. Monday

My gut says the Eagles, but with two weeks to prepare I tend to think Mike Shanahan will be able to sweep aside the Donovan McNabb controversy and have his team ready to play. Redskins +3.

