Football is back and all is well with the world.

It's a beautiful time of the year ... and it's time to handicap some football.

With football comes my attempt to prognosticate outcomes.

This will be the third season I’ll provide my sure-fire picks. The first season went very poorly and last year I batted an even .500 (67-67-2). Perhaps I can get in the win column this season … we shall see.

Miami (-3) at Buffalo, 1 p.m. Sunday

With temperatures nearing 70 degrees, the Dolphins should run into no problems against the hapless Bills Sunday. Expect Miami to load the box against rookie phenom C.J. Spiller and for quarterback Trent Edwards to make plenty of mistakes – like he always does. Dolphins -3.

Oakland at Tennessee (-6), 1 p.m. Sunday

Every year we are told the Raiders are finally going to turn the corner. Every year they don’t. Usually I fall for it. Not this time. Titans -6.

Denver at Jacksonville (-2.5), 1 p.m. Sunday

With Jack Del Rio’s job on the line you have to think the Jaguars will come out strong at home. The Broncos are a mess and are in need of a savior not named Timothy Tebow. Jags -2.5.

Carolina at N.Y. Giants (-6.5), 1 p.m. Sunday

The Panthers’ running game will only take them so far. Eli Manning and the Giants’ offense should be able to exploit Carolina’s Julius Peppers-less defense for more points than the Panthers can keep up with. Giants -6.5.

San Francisco (-3) at Seattle, 4:15 p.m. Sunday

I’m just not feeling the Pete Carroll in the NFL thing. I think Singletary’s boys hit them in the mouth early and often. Is Mike Williams really a starting receiver for Seattle? Sucks to be Matt Hasselbeck. 49ers -3.

Dallas (-3.5) at Washington, 8:20 p.m. Sunday

Donovan McNabb is banged up, Albert Haynesworth is disgruntled, and I can’t help but think it’s going to be more of the same for the Redskins this season. Cowboys -3.5.

Baltimore at N.Y. Jets (-2.5), 7 p.m. Monday

I’ll admit, this is less about what I think will happen and more about what I want to happen. Please Ray Lewis, just shut the fat man up. Shut   the   fat   man   up. Ravens -2.5

San Diego (-4.5) at Kansas City, 10:15 p.m. Monday

The Chargers have some issues, Vincent Jackson the biggest, but not as many as the Chiefs. Has anyone seen Charlie Weis this offseason? I’m intrigued by what his sideline attire will look like … red just might be his color. Chargers -4.5.

