In the tradition of Brett Favre and, well, every boxer that ever lived … we now enter the annual “will he retire” saga with Tony Dungy.

Indianapolis Colts ... You can do it! Don't make a spectacle out of Dungy announcing he's going to return again! Yeah!

Indianapolis Colts ... You can do it! Don't make a spectacle out of Dungy announcing he's going to return again! Yeah!

It’s been at least three or four years now that this has become a “will he or won’t he” debate following each season. The whole drama of it has lost its luster – if it ever had any in the first place. Let me know when he retires. Other than that, it’s not a story as far as I’m concerned.

Last season was a circus. The original thought was the press conference was being held in the morning. Tons of news vans littered the Colts’ complex throughout the day, only to be strung along until late in the afternoon. In the end, we all learned … nothing was changing. Dungy was staying.

Luckily for me, I had a friend at the Complex all day, keeping me informed as the press conference continued to be pushed back. For me, I only wasted about three or four hours of my life waiting for the non-decision. Others weren’t so lucky.

So this morning, it has surfaced that a decision will be made today concerning Dungy’s future. Joy. Like the great George W. Bush once said: “There’s an old saying in Tennessee – I know it’s in Texas, probably in Tennessee – that says, fool me once, shame on – shame on you. Fool me – you can’t get fooled again.”

Our sports department of two here at the Hendricks County Flyer will hold back its man power until we find out if actual news comes out of the Colts Complex this time around. We shall see.

